Common Council


Residents of Charlestown elect a five-member Common Council every four years. The Mayor holds executive powers and the Common Council holds legislative powers. The Clerk-Treasurer maintains records.

The current Common Council was elected in November 2023 and will serve through 2027. At the beginning of each year, the Common Council elects a Council President.


The Common Council meets the first Monday of each month in the Chambers of City Hall (304 Main Cross St.). All meetings are live-streamed on the City's Facebook page and archived. There is a sign-up sheet in the Chambers welcoming public comment at each meeting. Comments for public meeting can also be emailed to

The City Attorney is William Perry McCall III.

The City Council's attorney is Michael Gillenwater.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


2024 Common Council Meeting Dates
Wednesday, January 3, 6:30 PM
Monday, February 5, 6:30 PM
Monday, March 4, 6:30 PM
Wednesday, April 3, 6:30 PM
Monday, May 6, 6:30 PM
Monday, June 3, 6:30 PM
Monday, July 1, 6:30 PM
Monday, Aug. 5, 6:30 PM
Wednesday, Sept. 4, 6:30 PM
Monday, Oct. 7, 6:30 PM
Monday, Nov. 4, 6:30 PM
Monday, Dec. 2, 6:30 PM