Common Council

About

Residents of Charlestown elect a five-member Common Council every four years. The Mayor holds executive powers and the Common Council holds legislative powers. The Clerk-Treasurer maintains records.

The current Common Council was elected in November 2023 and will serve through 2027. At the beginning of each year, the Common Council elects a Council President.

Meetings

The Common Council meets the first Monday of each month in the Chambers of City Hall (304 Main Cross St.). All meetings are live-streamed on the City's Facebook page and archived. There is a sign-up sheet in the Chambers welcoming public comment at each meeting. Comments for public meeting can also be emailed to Mayor@CityofCharlestown.com.

The City Attorney is William Perry McCall III.

The City Council's attorney is Michael Gillenwater.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Members

2024 Common Council Meeting Dates
Wednesday, January 3, 6:30 PM
Monday, February 5, 6:30 PM
Monday, March 4, 6:30 PM
Wednesday, April 3, 6:30 PM
Monday, May 6, 6:30 PM
Monday, June 3, 6:30 PM
Monday, July 1, 6:30 PM
Monday, Aug. 5, 6:30 PM
Wednesday, Sept. 4, 6:30 PM
Monday, Oct. 7, 6:30 PM
Monday, Nov. 4, 6:30 PM
Monday, Dec. 2, 6:30 PM