Redevelopment Commission


The Redevelopment Commission is made up of five members: three appointed by the executive body (Mayor) and two appointed by the legislative body (City Council). The Redevelopment Commission works to identify blight and underutilized land that poses barriers to development. The commission encourages new development with the primary focus on increasing the property tax base and the creation of new jobs.


The Redevelopment Commission meets in the Chambers of City Hall (304 Main Cross Street) on the first Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. The meetings are open to the public and allow public comment.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View the most recent agendas, minutes and video recording of meetings.


  • Derek Coombs (President)
  • Robert Brooks (Vice President)
  • Benita Pate (Secretary)
  • Chuck Deaton
  • John Spencer

The Wheatley Group is the City of Charlestown's economic development director, led by Jill Saegesser.